Watermelon-Arugula Salad

watermelon arugula salad

The nice thing about the Texas growing season is that some things grow year round.  Arugula is one of them.  I have a confession to make, though.  I hated arugula at first.  When Stacey handed me my share of arugula last spring, I thought I had met my match in a vegetable I didn’t like.  Somewhere, though, in the back of my mind was the advice for feeding children — It takes up to ten exposures to a new food to like it.  I sometimes do very well when treated like a kid, so my experiment began.  It didn’t take ten exposures, though; just a really good recipe.  After falling in love with this salad, I was soon seeking the peppery arugula taste on sandwiches, pasta, and anywhere else I could sneak it in. 

The Texas growing season for watermelon is summer and early fall, so I have been brainstorming a substitute the off-season months.  Strawberries in the spring are a natural choice, but winter stymies me a little…Perhaps steamed winter squash?  We’ll see.   

This salad will give you a nice boost of vitamins A and C, as well as lycopene from the watermelon. 

Watermelon-Arugula Salad

Salad:

2 cups watermelon, cubed

1/4 thinly sliced onion, red preferred

2-3 large handfuls of arugula (easiest way to measure)

1/4 cup feta cheese

Dressing:

1/4 cup e.v. olive oil (I love Texas Olive Ranch)

2 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar, more to taste if you prefer

salt and pepper

Combine the watermelon, arugula, onions, and feta.  Whisk the dressing, or shake in a mason jar, and pour over the salad.  Toss and enjoy.

                                                                            

About Jill Thaxton

Wife, mom, writer, cook, professional Googler. I can't seem to narrow my interests to one topic, but love to ponder people, culture, faith, health, food, relationships, and science. I specialize in minutiae. Oh, and I will forever regret quitting piano, in case you were interested.
This entry was posted in Recipes for Fall, Recipes for Spring, Recipes for Summer, Recipes for Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

