Blessed Rainy Sunday

Christian Meyn/freedigitalphotos.net

Friday night the dragonflies were out.  Their darting and buzzing over our heads recalled to mind my mom telling me as a little girl that rain was coming whenever they came out to play.  I don’t know how much of that is true, but Saturday morning dawned dark and overcast, and the pitter patter of large raindrops began to fall in a lovely, longed-for syncopated rhythm.  My children immediately ran outside and danced in the rain, with my youngest yelling, “Jesus brought us rain!”

If you don’t already know, Texas has been experiencing a record-breaking severe drought.  Everyone has suffered by this point.  Wildfires have scorched acres of land, gobbled up over a 1,000 homes, and burned up many people’s livelihood.  Ranchers are selling off cattle, crops are being lost, and whole lakes are drying up.  Even the city dwellers feel the effects…water restrictions, burst water pipes, cracking sidewalks and foundations.  I even noticed that the mosquito sprayer who mists our neighborhood in the night hours has not been coming by as often.  When the mosquitos are not bad in Houston, we’re in trouble.

I have felt connected to this drought on a deeper level this year.  Never before had I handed over a check for an upcoming share of my local farmer’s harvest.  When you pay in advance for your vegetables, you look at the weather differently.  I find myself praying for rain more.  I think about how the drought will affect my family but also my farmer’s livelihood.  My food now has a face behind it and a story as well.  I like this new connection.  And I like this closer reminder to me that I am not in control.  I can no more make it rain than I can make myself grow a few more inches.  I like being at the mercy of my God, because he has already demonstrated to me that he is good, and that he loves me unto extreme measures. 

Needless to say, the steady falling of rain yesterday and today has been a great source of rejoicing for us and all of Texas.  I’ll borrow the words that my 3-year-old uttered before dinner today, “Thank you God, for the wetness.”

About Jill Thaxton

Wife, mom, writer, cook, professional Googler. I can't seem to narrow my interests to one topic, but love to ponder people, culture, faith, health, food, relationships, and science. I specialize in minutiae. Oh, and I will forever regret quitting piano, in case you were interested.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

