A Simple, Rustic Lunch

My CSA‘s fall season begins in October, so off-season I have to visit farmer’s markets or, my new favorite, visit the very farm itself. 

Simply delicious

This morning, two of my girls and I took off for All We Need Farms to pick this week’s produce fresh from the fields.  This was their first visit, so Stacey took some time out to show the girls her chickens and also let them plant eggplant and tomatillo seedlings.  Sweet middle daughter, my little chef, was right at home.  She was in heaven picking rows of okra, watching the bees, weeding nutsedge and amaranth from the arugula and finally getting to use the lettuce knife to cut our entire bag of arugula. 

 
When we got home, I got busy cutting my sweet potato greens from the vine, and cleaning up some long beans, so I almost forgot about lunch.  What I love about having fresh herbs on hand is that you can take simple ingredients and without much fuss, make something delicious.  I had a huge bag of fresh cut basil and arugula picked this morning, so I made these quick little open-faced sandwiches.  No complaints from the girls!  These will work with store-bought tomatoes, but they probably won’t be as satisfying.
 
Tomato Sandwiches with Basil (Or Arugula)
 
6 slices of artisan bread (or gluten-free – I use Udi’s.  Pictured above is Kamut bread that I buy frozen for the girls.  I like to buy bread that can rot.)
 
1-2 tomatoes, sliced thickly
 
6-10 basil leaves (or arugula) per slice
 
1/4 – 1/2 parmesan cheese, shredded
 
olive oil for brushing
 
sea salt
 
Turn on the oven broiler, and set rack to 4-6 inches from broiler.  Brush the bread with olive oil and lay the basil leaves (or arugula) across the bread.  Place the tomato slices on the basil and sprinkle lightly with sea salt.  Top with shredded parmesan to taste.  Broil until the bread is toasted on the edges and the cheese has browned slightly.  Watch carefully or they will burn.
 
 
 
About Jill Thaxton

Wife, mom, writer, cook, professional Googler. I can't seem to narrow my interests to one topic, but love to ponder people, culture, faith, health, food, relationships, and science. I specialize in minutiae. Oh, and I will forever regret quitting piano, in case you were interested.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Recipes for Fall, Recipes for Summer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Simple, Rustic Lunch

  1. Sometimes the best thing to do with beautiful ingredients is to leave them alone! They look delicious!

  2. TechieChef says:

    they look so delicious. this reminds me of simple Caprese salad with toast. Nice Post.

    Thanks for sharing
    http://www.chefdehome.wordpress.com

  3. Katy M. says:

    This looks delicious! Keep those recipes coming! 🙂

Leave a Reply

