A County Fair and a Sneak Peek

This is going to be fun.

Today we are going to my county fair and parade.  Living in Fort Bend county allows me to have one foot in the city and the other in the country.  The fact that the entire school district has a holiday to go the fair makes me feel…well…so rural.  And I can still grab my Starbucks on the way.

 
I’ll be on the ferris wheel and touring the barns today instead of in my kitchen, but I couldn’t resist sharing with you a sneak peek of what I’ll be cooking up this week.  One of the things that made me fall in love with local eating is the fact that it stirs my creativity.  I am not in control of the shopping list.  What comes out of the garden that week becomes the raw materials with which I get to research, test, and eat. Look at it all!  I see an artist’s palate.
 
Everything was picked fresh yesterday at All We Need Farms.  Starting at the top middle, I’ll list them clockwise:  Purple long beans, okra (2 varieties), arugula, basil, sweet potato greens,  mystery “stinky” melons (anyone?), garlic chives, and a sweet squash.  I had to taste the sweet potato greens last night.  If Stacey hadn’t offered them, I would never have known they were edible.  They were more than edible.  Quite delicious.
 
Until recently, I had no idea of the variety of foods that existed.  It had never occurred to me that what makes it to the grocery store is just what ships well and has a long storage life.  That is why my past organic co-ops mostly offered the same foods as the grocery store — they needed to ship well.  There are so many wonderful foods to discover that taste really, really good that are meant to be enjoyed soon after they are picked. 
 
In the meantime, I’ll be munching on caramel apples and a sausage-on-a-stick or two.  (Funnel cakes aren’t gluten free…drats.)
 
 
About Jill Thaxton

Wife, mom, writer, cook, professional Googler. I can't seem to narrow my interests to one topic, but love to ponder people, culture, faith, health, food, relationships, and science. I specialize in minutiae. Oh, and I will forever regret quitting piano, in case you were interested.
This entry was posted in The Art and Science of Clean Food, Thoughts and Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

