September Farmer’s Market Saute

Green Goodness

I’ve developed an eggplant obsession the past few weeks, so even though I planned to make a dish featuring eggplant only, I’ve been finding myself chopping up eggplants every time I’m in the kitchen.  I don’t think the solo eggplant dish will be forthcoming, at least until I restock my eggplant supply.

 
One of the simplest ways to enjoy your September bounty from the market, or to find yet another way to use your latest veggie obsession (eggplant!), is to make an all-purpose saute.  You really can’t go wrong.  I call it “all-purpose” because you can add it to eggs to make a frittata or omelet or add bits of any meat and serve it over rice. Topping potatoes, adding a shake of parmesan, would satisfy or just enjoy it simply with a thick slice of bread and olive oil.
 
Cooking locally falls under what I call “intuitive cooking.”  Intuitive cooking will frustrate recipe followers, but with a willingness to sometimes fail, you will stumble upon some fantastic combinations, using what you have on hand.  Hate eggplant?  Leave it out!  Don’t have sweet potato greens?  Use spinach.  You get the point.  Thus, the following recipe will be very vague when it comes to amounts.  That’s intentional.  It will free you.  Go wild.  Access your inner cook.
 
One last note.  About the okra…okra’s less than desirable mucilaginous properties will be exaggerated by boiling or overcooking.  Sauteing is a great way to use okra.  Beware of overcooking, unless slime is what attracted you to okra in the first place.
 
September Farmer’s Market Saute
 
2 Tbsp olive oil  (Texas-produced preferred)
handfuls of sweet potato greens
chopped garlic chives
1-2 garlic cloves, smashed and chopped
baby eggplants, cubed (peeling and salting not necessary unless they are large)
handfuls of okra, sliced
 sea salt
fresh ground pepper
 
Heat the olive oil over medium heat in a large saute pan.  Add the vegetables in the order listed, cooking the greens a little bit longer before adding the rest of the ingredients, slowly, saving the okra for last.  (I prefer my okra a little firm.)  Sprinkle the vegetables with salt and cook until desired tenderness.  Top with fresh ground black pepper.
 
 
 
About Jill Thaxton

Wife, mom, writer, cook, professional Googler. I can't seem to narrow my interests to one topic, but love to ponder people, culture, faith, health, food, relationships, and science. I specialize in minutiae. Oh, and I will forever regret quitting piano, in case you were interested.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Recipes for Fall and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

