Basil-Watermelon Cooler

Texas, ahhh, Texas.  You have a way of extending summer into fall and with that, abundant basil and watermelons in September.  People may complain of the heat, but look at the produce that we get to enjoy this time of year!
 
Clean and Satisfying

What was left from the basil I picked last Thursday at All We Need Farms was looking a little neglected and I’d swear, even a little forlorn, to me this afternoon.  I’ll admit that I had not taken the time to properly store the basil, but had left it in a plastic bag in my veggie keeper.  If I had been conscientious, I would have stored it this way.  But I didn’t.  So now what to do. 

I’ve recently been reading up on the daring combination of basil and fruit, and this refreshing cooler appealed to me, not only because it is beautiful to look at, but because it tastes so real, nothing at all like the artificial flavors of a soda.  Melons always bespeak clean to me and the addition of basil added a satisfying punch to the drink.  Lovely.
 
I used the worst looking leaves first to macerate a little first on the bottom of my glass.  I didn’t go crazy, just a few punches with a spoon, but it hid their less-than-fresh appearance.  Add a few chunks of watermelon, fill with sparkling water, and then top with the nicest looking leaves.   Enjoy! 
 
 Believe it or not, I had to fight my three-year old off of the glass so I could take a picture.  Now that’s a palate-in-training.
 

Even the basil was rejuvenated!

 
 
 
About Jill Thaxton

Wife, mom, writer, cook, professional Googler. I can't seem to narrow my interests to one topic, but love to ponder people, culture, faith, health, food, relationships, and science. I specialize in minutiae. Oh, and I will forever regret quitting piano, in case you were interested.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Basil-Watermelon Cooler

  1. Cheryl says:

    If I only liked watermelon…..

Leave a Reply

