October Farmer’s Market Canapes (or just a good lunch)

October Texas Canapes

Saturday I bought the most scrumptious goat chevre I have ever tasted.  Packed on Friday by Proverbs Farm in Alvin, one taste of the snow-white, light and fluffy chevre had me opening up my wallet. 

Goat cheese and I have a funny relationship.  Most I can’t stand, although I never give up trying.  What usually ruins goat cheese for me is the musky, male goat smell I taste on the out-breath.  Apparently, not all people taste this, but I am highly aware of it.  I love fresh, raw goat milk, but the pasteurized stuff concentrates the musky taste about a hundred-fold for me.  Triple that hundred-fold for goat cheese.  Except not here.  The farmer told me that they raise Nubian goats, known for their mild milk.  Mild indeed.  And creamy. And rich. And very, very fresh.

So, how was I going to use this delicious wonder?  Being gluten-free, I find that gluten-free crackers are not worth the effort, so I remembered seeing cucumber-based canapes from my husband’s grandmother’s stash of Gourmet magazines, circa 1960.  (Cocktails, anyone??)

Three of the four main ingredients came from the farmer’s market this Saturday.  I find this thrilling.

October Farmer’s Market Canapes

1 large cucumber, sliced

1/4 – 1/2 cup goat chevre

2 small sweet peppers

12 greek-style calamata olives, halved

fresh ground black pepper

Top each cucumber slice with a tablespoon of goat chevre, two slices of sweet pepper, and half a calamata olive.  Finish with a grind of black pepper.  If your goat chevre is not salted, be sure and add a few grains of sea salt on top of the cheese.

Note:  I recall that some recipes have you salt the cucumbers first to draw water out of them.  This is unappealing to me…I love the fresh, water-filled crunch of a cucumber, so I suggest making these right before serving.

About Jill Thaxton

Wife, mom, writer, cook, professional Googler. I can't seem to narrow my interests to one topic, but love to ponder people, culture, faith, health, food, relationships, and science. I specialize in minutiae. Oh, and I will forever regret quitting piano, in case you were interested.
This entry was posted in eating local, Recipes for Fall, Recipes for Summer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October Farmer’s Market Canapes (or just a good lunch)

  1. Pingback: Surtido de canapés para Nochevieja: todos con verduras - Recetín

Leave a Reply

