Baby Bok Choy Salad

Baby bok choy, toasted almonds, oranges.

 
 Last Friday kicked off the first delivery of my fall CSA season.  It’s been so strange reading other blogs around the country that talk of their CSA season coming to an end.  End?  Really?  We’re just beginning here.  I have nine more weeks to look forward to!
 

My share this past week had garlic chives, french breakfast radishes, various hot peppers, a huge bag of arugula, okra, baby bok choy, and purple long beans.  I’ve had a heads up that baby bok choy will be included this week as well.  We were also going to get sweet potato greens too, which I love, but a freakishly early frost killed them overnight.  Oh well…such is the risk with a CSA.

The baby bok choy was lovely–so lovely I didn’t want to cook it, even though I usually can’t resist the way the white parts deliver a watery crunch when sauteed.  I wanted a salad, but I didn’t want it stereotypically Asian, with a heavy soy-sauced and overly sweet dressing.  I remembered the orange olive oil and orange infused white balsamic vinegar I bought recently from Texas Olive Ranch. 

The dressing ended up with a splash of tamari, but it really just provides a balanced saltiness for what could be overly orange-y.  Segment an orange, toast some almonds, dice some onions (I only had white, but green would be better), and that’s that.  You might see a radish sticking out in my pictures.  I couldn’t resist. 

Baby Bok Choy Salad

In a mason jar, shake vigorously:

1/2 cup. orange infused olive oil

1/4 c. orange infused white balsamic vinegar

1 tablespoon sugar

1-2 shakes of tamari (or soy) sauce (I use gluten-free)

For the salad:

5 heads (more or less) of baby bok choy, chopped

1/4 of a large white onion, diced (or 1 bunch of a green onion, sliced, white and light green parts only)

1 large orange, segmented

1/2 cup toasted sliced almonds (I toast mine in a dry skillet)

Toss together the bok choy, onion, and orange.  Pour dressing over the salad.   Right before serving, mix in the toasted almonds. 

The bok choy is sturdy and this can sit awhile without becoming soggy like normal cabbage.  You may even prefer it wilted a little.  But do save the almonds until serving!

About Jill Thaxton

Wife, mom, writer, cook, professional Googler. I can't seem to narrow my interests to one topic, but love to ponder people, culture, faith, health, food, relationships, and science. I specialize in minutiae. Oh, and I will forever regret quitting piano, in case you were interested.
This entry was posted in eating local, Gluten Free, Recipes for Fall and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Baby Bok Choy Salad

  1. Kyle Wisecarver says:

    Love Bok Choy!

  2. Orange infused olive oil and vinegar… Oh my! Where can I get that stuff?

  3. Jill Thaxton says:

    Texas is gaining in the olive oil market, so I am seeing more and more locally produced olive oil appearing everywhere, from farmer’s markets to grocery stores. If you click the link above, you can order it online, but you may check your stores for locally produced olive oil.

Leave a Reply

